Kestenbaum,Eisner & Gorin, LLP - Los Angeles Criminal Defense Attorneys
Kestenbaum, Eisnet & Gorin, LLP Home
Firm Overview
Attorney Profiles
Court Victories
Frequently Asked Questions
Find Your Court
Espanol
Contact Us
Before Charges Are Filed
Domestic Violence
Theft Offenses
Property Crimes
DUI Defense
White Collar Crimes
Violent Crimes
Sex Crimes
Three Strikes
Federal Crimes
Internet Crimes
Drug Offenses
DMV Suspensions
Hit & Run
Warrants
Probation Violations
Sealing Records/Expungements
Juvenile Crimes
Preeminent Law Firm
Firm Videos
Office Locations
Criminal Law Blog
Addiction & Rehab
Bail & O.R. Release
Sentencing Defense
Preliminary Hearing
Grand Jury Defense
Child Pornography
Jury Trial Defense
Call Today! Free Immediate Response (877) 781-1570 Available 24 Hours/7 Days

Los Angeles Lewd Conduct with Minor Lawyer

Lewd Conduct with Minor Information

Lewd and Lascivious Acts with a child (California Penal Code § 288), is a felony offense except in specific situations when it can be charged as a misdemeanor. There are different types of this offense and each type carries with it different possible penalties.

To be convicted under California Penal Code § 288(a), the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that (1) you touched a child younger than 14 years old and (2) the act was committed to satisfy a sexual desire of yourself or the child. This section is always charged as a felony and carries a possible sentence of three, six, or eight years in state prison.

To be convicted under Penal Code §288(b)(1),the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that (1) you touched a 14 or 15 year old child, (2) the act was committed to satisfy a sexual desire of yourself or the child, and (3) you were at least 10 years older than the child. This statute can be charged as a misdemeanor, in which case the maximum sentence is one year in county jail, or it can be charged as a felony, in which case it carries a possible sentence of one, two, or three years in state prison.

Lastly, California Penal Code § 288(2) applies to cases in which the victim is a dependent person and the conduct of a touching for sexual gratification occurs. It can be charged as a misdemeanor, in which case the maximum sentence is one year in county jail, or it can be charged as a felony, in which case it carries a possible sentence of one, two, or three years in state prison.

A conviction of these offenses requires you to register as a sex offender for life so it is imperative that you get the best legal representation that you can.

Legal Penalties for Lewd Conduct with a Minor

The legal consequences for this type of sex crime could include a lengthy sentence in a California state prison. It could also include large fines and sex offender registration. Child molestation, child sexual abuse, oral copulation with a minor are all offenses which could constitute lewd conduct with a minor. The specific penalties and criminal charges may vary depending upon the specific details of the case as well as the age of the victim and the defendant.

Contact a Lewd Conduct with a Minor Attorney

Being charged with engaging in lewd conduct with a minor is a very serious offense and should be taken seriously as the legal penalties and other consequences associated with such a charge are harsh and far-reaching. In many cases, these types of charges are the result of false accusations.

At the law offices of Eisner Gorin LLP, we use all the experience and resources available to us when uncovering the truth and attacking the credibility of the accuser. We employ our own in-house private investigator and do not depend on the results of an investigation conducted by the police. We are dedicated to your freedom and will fight to protect your rights inside and outside of court. Call our law firm for a free case review.